You are...: a practitioner
Number of Spirits: 30
Spelled Number: 10
Your favorite spirit to work with: All Shifters
If I could be anything, I would be...: Kitsune
My super power would be...: Ability to shape-shift
My magical/paranormal name...: zephyr morningcloud
Zodiac:

Ok maybe this is a silly question...This is difficult to explain. I get how to shield and why it's important, but what I'm trying to understand is what happens to your senses when you are shielded. Obviously it's working for many advanced people like Magnolia, Ash, and many others here, and clearly they are able to still be sensitive to the energies around them.
In order to understand what I'm trying to ask I have to explain how this came about. I give massage for a living and I've always felt people on a deeper level if that makes sense :P. All the positive and negative energy that comes with that, helps in deciding how the treatment needs to go. As uncomfortable as that is to experience for many hours a day, I'm used to it, and would feel crippled if I couldn't get to this level with the people that find themselves on my treatment table (cleansing is another issue entirely :/\ ). I'm afraid that if I keep a shield up I will be drowning out the energies I need to feel to interpret people. Now in some ways I'm just a whelpling ( as my WW loves to say ) and in others I've gained a ton of experience by now. This experience was no formal education mind you, and so my knowledge is patchy.

I'm also afraid that if I keep using shielding I'm going to dull my senses over time. Is this ridiculous?

I also feel there is so much weight put on positive energy, and I wonder how much we are missing out on learning from negative things if we are constantly filtering them out. I don't know how to phrase this any better. Is there a way to protect ourselves from the really icky stuff and still experience life in it's many colors?
Can someone help me out here?

EGOTIST
neophyte
neophyte
Answers: 0