Finnish gods and spirits

Resources and links to information on immortals from various cultures.
hupsu
active contributor
active contributor
Answers: 0
You are...: in the learning process
Number of Spirits: 16
Spelled Number: 20
My super power would be...: Ability to shape-shift
Zodiac:

FINNISH GODS AND SPIRITS

Introduction

First I'd like to say I'm not an expert on the topic. My interest in Finnish mythology has blossomed within past few years and thus lacks some depth. It is a sad fact that our old beliefs are not tought in school. Only some things through the Kalevala (our national epic) in literature class but it barely scratches the surface. In defence of the school system, our old ways are bits and pieces gathered from oral tradition and retaining knowledge got more difficult with the arrival of Christianity several centuries ago. I will try to give an introduction to our old gods and beliefs.

Finns of the old were known throughout Europe and even down to Arabia as sorcerers and fierce warriors. I'd like to quote "The Golden Bough" by Sir James Frazer:

"Finnish wizards used to sell wind to storm-stayed mariners. The wind was enclosed in three knots; if they undid the first knot, a moderate wind sprang up; if the second, it blew half a gale; if the third, a hurricane."

Spirit folk